Giving Back for the Holidays! – Blogmas Day 17

Blogmas17

Hello Readers!

Today I wanted to do yet another quick post about what I do to give back during the holidays. The company I work for is very into giving back at all times throughout the year, but especially during the hoidays. Every year each department/branch adopts a local family and we all go out together to buy gifts for the family.

This year we had a family of 3 kids and they all had little lists of things they wanted. Let me tell you how heartbreaking it is that these 3 kids, all of whom are under the age of 11, asked for warm jackets and clothes to wear to school rather than toys. Each kid got a jacket, hat and gloves as well as some outfits they can wear to school. With the leftover money we hit up the toy section and got them each something to play with as well as a game they could all play as a family. Though we’ll never meet these kids, or see them open their presents it really warms my heart to know that on Christmas morning they’re going to have something to open.

Just try to imagine a picture of my branch with overflowing shopping carts because i’m a terrible blogger who forgets to take pictures! Forgive me :-]

In addition to adopting a family through work I also try to make some monetary donations of my own to different charities in the area. This year I donated to the Make A Wish Foundation (Which i’m sure almost everyone has heard of) as well as the Ronald McDonald House. The Ronald McDonald house closest to where I live has been renovating the house next door in order to expand so they very much need the money. With work we used to make breakfast there once a month and getting to see how appreciative everyone was of us doing just the simple task of making breakfast has really stuck with me so I always make sure to donate to them.

What do you do to give back around the holidays? Let me know in the comments and be sure to check out Tay and Ash’s linkup!

♥ Leanna

Y99aWdH

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Giving Back for the Holidays! – Blogmas Day 17

  1. Alex MS says:

    You did so many nice things this year! How wonderful 🙂 I bought gifts for children as well this year and I said the same thing you did in regards to the jackets and clothes. One of my children was an infant and one of the things she needed was a warm blanket. I told my mom I couldn’t believe she would need something so seemingly simple. I ended up finding one that was big enough so anyone in the family could use it instead of it being an infant size because I felt like they could all get more use out of it that way. It really makes you think and appreciate all that you have.

    Like

  2. I am imagining it! 🙂 Very cool.

    Liked by 1 person

Whatcha thinking?

