My “Beautiful” Gingerbread Houses- Blogmas Day 18

Blogmas18

❄ Hello Readers! ❄

Let me just start off by saying that there is a pretty boring back story to this so feel free to skip ahead to the pictures. Basically, back in the middle of November when I read Ash’s post for the prompts for Blogmas I immediately started brainstorming ideas for the month. I made a list of what I wanted to write about every day and made a separate list for all the things I’d need to accomplish that stuff. I’m a big list maker. Anyways, I really wanted to make an awesome gingerbread house and being a fairly decent cupcake decorator, I thought this was right up my alley. Once I get an idea into my head I need to take action immediately. Soooo instead of being patient and waiting for Trader Joe’s gingerbread houses to come out for the winter I opted to get the Wilton brand mini village. Which you’ll notice that my pictures are missing the A frame house. Yeah, that one did not turn out so well. It got trashed instead of photographed.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with Wilton, in fact, more than half of my baking supplies are from Wilton and I could spend hours on their website. But, have you ever seen the Trader Joe’s gingerbread kit? It’s amazing. Once I have an idea in my head I NEED IT NOW is my mentality. So I purchased what I didn’t really want and got this:

Gingerbread collage

When I really wanted this:

Eric's houses

Amazing right? You’d think that professionals did this instead of 2 normal people following instructions. By the way, I stole this picture from my friend Eric’s Instagram. I haven’t told him about the blog yet so thanks Eric! Also, fun story, I bought him and his fiance those kits. I was going to be near Trader Joe’s so I told him I’d stop in and get them for him. Complete fail on my part. I had already gotten the Wilson ones and did not need more gingerbread kits. It’s not like you eat them.

Do you guys eat gingerbread houses? I just make cookies and use the houses for decoration.

IMG_20141206_180726

My cookies were fantastic by the way. And much more attractive than the houses.

I can’t wait to check the linkup and see everyone’s gingerbread houses so be sure to check out the linkup!

Thanks for reading!

♥ Leanna

Y99aWdH

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My “Beautiful” Gingerbread Houses- Blogmas Day 18

  1. Sophi says:

    I definitely didn’t make a house, but that’s my own fault because I didn’t look at today’s topic until late last night. Seeing the Trader Joe’s kit though makes me want to go get it and make it!

    Like

  2. I have never made a gingerbread house before, but I think I’d have to take a quick picture and then eat it 😛

    Like

  3. Taylor says:

    Those cookies are beautiful!!! It looks like something I would buy at a bakery!!

    Like

Whatcha thinking?

