My Nightly Routine!

Nighttimeroutine115

Hello Readers!

Today I wanted to share with you all my nighttime routine. I used to be in the horrible habit of going to bed with my makeup on every night and just showering it all off in the morning. A big goal of mine for 2014 was to get into a routine that I can be sure to do every night. I’ve found a combination of products that work for me and I haven’t changed any of them in the past few months. Some of these products I’ve even been using for years now and my skin still loves them.

Facewipes

First up are my all-time favorite makeup wipes. I use these every night no matter how lazy I’m feeling. I have tried numerous brands and haven’t found a single one that removes my makeup as well without drying out my skin. The cloths are made of spun silk and are incredibly soft. They get my makeup off without me having to excessively rub at my face, even if i’m wearing waterproof mascara. I buy these at Marshalls and have for years and they are $4.99 for a pack of 60. Which is pretty inexpensive compared to other cleansing cloths out there. You can find these at Nicka.com but if you can get them at Marshalls they’re a few dollars cheaper.

CleanserNow I will admit that I do sometimes skip this step out of laziness. But, when I don’t skip I use the First Aid Beauty face cleanser. This really gets all the stuff the makeup wipes leave behind and I feel like it really gets into my pores and gets rid of all the dirt. The texture is very creamy which I prefer to more sudsy cleansers. They just feel more luxurious to me. I never realized how stripping my previous cleanser was until I dried my face after using this the first time and my skin didn’t feel tight or flaky. I’ve also noticed that my skin tends to be less red when I use it morning and night.

tonerThe third step in my regime is to use a toner. I really see a difference in the texture of my skin after using a toner. My pores are less visible and my skin is softer and somehow there is always just a little bit of makeup on that cotton pad too. The Clinique Clarifying Lotion does a great job of tightening my pores without drying my skin out and I’ve used a plethora of bottles of this over the past few years. Once this last bit is used up I do have a replacement that I haven’t tried and I’m really excited to see how it compares. Do any of you use the Body Shop’s tea tree toner? Let me know how you like it.

lipscrubAfter I use toner and everything is off my face I like to use a lip scrub. I don’t use this every day, maybe a few times a week. This Bubblegum lip scrub from LUSH makes my lips look so smooth. The thick, gritty texture of the sugar scrub really gets all the dead skin off my lips and it tastes fantastic. I usually rub this into my lips for a minute or so and then lick off the excess. If bubblegum isn’t your thing, they also have mint julep, popcorn and a limited edition coke flavor.

lipbalmAfter the lip scrub I heap on a generous amount of my current favorite lip balm to keep my lips hydrated overnight. I use the Nivea: A kiss of Moisture but I do change up my lip balm pretty frequently. I have yet to find a lip balm that I’m head over heels for so please let me know what you use. The Nivea is a great lip balm but it doesn’t stay on all night.

eyecreamOnce my lips are hydrated I move onto my eye cream. I use the Shiseido Benefiance Wrinkle Resist 24 all over my orbital bone. I haven’t tried many eye creams because this stuff works fantastic. I have a sample size that seems to be lasting me forever. I’m sure I don’t use the recommended amount but I’m still really pleased with this product. I’ve had the sample size for a few months now and I really see a difference in my eyes. I never wake up with puffy eyes and the formulation sinks into my skin almost immediately. This is great for people with sensitive skin even though it has hyaluronic acid in it, it doesn’t sting my eyes.

neckmoisturizerThis next cream I use on my neck and chest, or décolletage (let’s be honest, it’s so much more fun to say décolletage).  It’s the Skincare LdeL Cosmetics Retinol night cream. Basically I bought this at Marshalls because it says Retinol and I got excited. I don’t have any wrinkles, but prevention is a main priority of mine. It’s thick without being greasy and it hydrates really well, perfect for nighttime use. I do want to upgrade to a real retinol type product but I’m still souring reviews to find one that I want to try.

facemoisturizerAnd last but not least I apply my Neutrogena Rapid Wrinkle Repair moisturizer all over my face. I have used this for months and notice a huge difference in my skin. That one stubborn line forming on my forehead seems to be disappearing and has yet to become noticeable to anyone but me (I hope). Also, it has done wonders for the sunspots that I’ve started to get. The formulation is perfect for night time because it is rich and creamy without being sticky. For the price, this is the best night time moisturizer I have ever tried and now that I realize there is a whole line of products I’m going to try them all.

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you use for your night time routine below!

&hearts, Leanna

*None of the above links are affiliates, nor was anything sent to me. All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Whatcha thinking?

