Being A Bookworm!

Beingabookworm1-1

My kitty Mischka helping with the photos

Hello Readers!

Today I wanted to introduce you to a series i’ll be doing all about books! I’m going to call it Being A Bookworm for now but i’m open to more creative names. I love reading, it’s probably one of my favorite pastimes so I wanted to document what I read and give little reviews of the books I love.

I wanted to kick this off with a little book haul from Barnes and Noble. I had a gift certificate from Christmas that was burning a hole in my pocket so I went to their website one night and got a lot of great bargains. Here’s what I got!

Beingabookworm1-2

Clockwise from left: I Quit Sugar, Bossypants, Night Road, The Next Best Thing, One Summer, and Promises to Keep

I Quit Sugar By: Sarah Wilson– Now, I’m not planning on quitting sugar, but I have seen one too many documentaries about how horrible sugar is for you. I was really curious to see what kind of recipes are in here more than I was interested in the detox program. I wasn’t super impressed with the recipes. It seemed as though every recipe had 800 ingredients and half of them were homemade so that they didn’t have sugar and that made me just feel overwhelmed. I like almond milk, I don’t have the patience to make homemade almond milk, ya know what I’m saying? Anyways, I’m going to be returning this. If I want some sugar free recipes, I can turn to Pinterest.

Bossy Pants By: Tina Fey – I have heard so many good things about this book and I personally think Tina is hilarious so I’m really excited to read this. Who doesn’t want to read about this comical genius’s life? I mean 4.5 stars and 2,400 reviews of it on Barnes & Noble’s website can’t be wrong.

Night Road By: Kristin Hannah- I love Kristin Hannah’s other books and I’ve been trying to get around to reading all of her work. I was looking through the bargain section of B&N’s website hoping to find Fly Away which is a sequel that I didn’t know Firefly Lane had. I came across this and settled but after reading the overview I am so excited to crack into it. (Ahhh, the feeling you get when you crack the spine on a new book is great isn’t it?) I love reading about mother and child relationships.

The Next Best Thing By: Jennifer Weiner- Jennifer Weiner is another author I really enjoy reading because she always writes such strong characters. I can really feel like I know this fictional person when she writes. I’m excited to read about Ruth and follow along in her life as she tries to make it in Hollywood. I have read many of Jennifer’s books and I’m glad I’m adding this to my collection.

One Summer By: Elin Hilderbrand- This is actually two books in one. The Blue Bistro and The Love Season. I have only read Winter Street by Elin Hilderbrand which I reviewed here and I was very excited to find something else to read by her. A friend of mine suggested The Blue Bistro so I was on a mission to find it. I came across this combo of two books for only $13 and I couldn’t pass it up. I might have to wait until the weather is a tad warmer (it was above freezing today!!) outside before I get into books that sound so summery.

Promises To Keep By: Jane Green- I bought this because it was cheap and I had heard of the author.  I really like reading books about families I can relate to (as I mentioned in my Winter Street review) and the synopsis mentions siblings with divorced parents I kind of jumped on it. Plus, I’ve heard so many good things about Jane Green and haven’t read anything by her. I needed a new author to get into and i had read a bunch of reviews of all of her books and I think i’m going to love her writing style.

 

So that’s my Barnes & Noble haul. I’m currently working my way through the books I got for Christmas so I probably won’t start these right away but I’m really interested to see if you all have read any of these and what you thought of them. I’m reading Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult at the moment and I can’t put it down. I’ll be putting up a review soon!

Hope everyone is having a great day, thanks for reading!

♥ Leanna

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Whatcha thinking?

