January Birchbox!

Jancover

Hello Readers!

I’m here today with my January Birchbox!! I’ve really been loving the boxes so far and I’ve got a list of full size products I want to buy, a few from last month, some from the sample box I received and one item from this month’s box, so let’s get into the reviews!

Dr.Jart

First up is the Dr. Jart+ Premium Beauty Balm with SPF 45. I own this full size; I’ve used it and repurchased it for years now. This was the first BB cream I ever tried and it is still my favorite BB cream out there. The amount of coverage is perfect, and it never looks cakey. I apply this with a sponge and it goes on flawlessly making my skin look completely evened out. I was so thrilled to receive this as a sample size because that means I can travel with a mini instead of the full size! If you haven’t gotten on the BB cream bandwagon than I suggest you start with this product. Don’t know what a BB cream is? Well, it’s like foundation, moisturizer, sunscreen and skincare all in one. Supposedly it has anti-aging benefits but I switch up my foundation too much to really notice any difference. Did I mention it has SPF 45? This stuff is perfect.

Essentialelements

This is the Essentiel Elements Wake Up Rosemary Body Lotion and I am not liking this one bit. Actually, I like it, a lot, but I cannot stand the smell. I love rosemary seasoning on my food but I can’t do the scent of this. It’s also got mint in it which I love as well, but for some reason rosemary and mint together smells like menthol aka that stuff you rub on your chest when you have a cold. Yuck. However, the lotion is excellent at moisturizing super dry skin and it’s lightweight and not at all greasy. To use this up I’ve been slathering it on my feet with some fuzzy socks for a nice moisturizing treatment. This had been working great and the socks keep me from smelling the lotion. Win-Win. I won’t be buying this full size but if minty rosemary is your thing or you want a substitute for Vicks then then I highly recommend it.

notaperfume

The perfume sample this month was Not A Perfume by Juliette Has A Gun and I am over here weeping at the full size price. It’s $90 for 50ml which isn’t horrible when it comes to perfume but I just can’t justify it until I use up some more of the perfume I have. This perfume is made out of cetalox and only cetalox. Apparently Cetalox is usually a base note in perfumes but it gets to shine all on its own in the Not A Perfume bottle. It’s a sort of warm, spicy, ambery smell and I  am so in love with this scent and I have gotten so many compliments that I’ve already forgotten about the sample from last month’s box that I also thought I loved.

Jourd'automne

Sample number four is the Number 4 Hair Care Non-Aerosol Hairspray. I’ve been using this every day and I’m pleasantly surprised by how much I like using the non-aerosol bottle. I thought I’d have a hard time getting used to it and would end up using way too much (which I totally did the first few days) and ruining my hair but, now I’ve got it down. I spray my hand twice and then smooth down any fly aways and pat it into my scalp by my part to keep everything in place. This hairspray even smells good. Well, at least as good as a hairspray can smell. But it works well too! It has a strong hold without being crunchy and my hair can still move around. It really keeps my hair from getting out of control at work where it’s super dry and everything is always shocking me. A+ in my book.

Sumita

And last and certainly least was the Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner. I know I’m not giving this a fair review at all but I can’t be objective. (There was something in this eyeliner that really irritated my eye. My eyes were red the whole day and I had nice bright red lines on my lids where I had used the liner. I’ve never had this happen before with a product and I’m definitely steering clear of this brand until I can figure out what the ingredient was that caused the issues.) I received the color New Delhi Chai and it was a really pretty gold color that I was excited to try out, unfortunately I can’t say anything about the products ability to stay put or hold up because I removed it shortly after I applied it. It irritates my hand less than my eyes so I can at least get a decent swatch to say that the color is very nice and it has the perfect amount of shimmer without being glittery and the reviews on Birchbox’s website all seemed overwhelmingly positive so don’t listen to my review, go read someone else’s!

January

That’s it for January’s Birchbox, out of the 5 products there were 3 I really loved and one I already owned so I definitely think Birchbox is on their game and giving me samples of things I can get great use out of. I’m really disappointed that the Sumita eye liner didn’t work out but that was definitely a random unforeseeable reason as to why I don’t like it.

Do you use Birchbox? What did you get this month and have you tried any of the products I got this month?

Thanks so much for reading!

♥ Leanna

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Whatcha thinking?

